Where do I file for divorce?
In order to file for divorce in Michigan, you or your spouse must have resided in Michigan for at least 180 days before filing. Either party must also have resided in the county where you are filing for at least 10 days prior to filing. If your children do not reside in Michigan, you should speak to an attorney about the best location for filing. The Michigan court may not have jurisdiction to decide custody and parenting time issues if your children are not residing in Michigan.
The family division of the Circuit Court (one for each county in Michigan) handles divorces in Michigan.
This article should not be construed as legal advice. Every case is different. Talk to your attorney today about any concerns you have. Call the Lashier Law Firm today at (586) 219-1984 or schedule your appointment online.